Andrew Jackson

7th President of the United States
In office
March 4, 1829 – March 4, 1837
Vice PresidentJohn C. Calhoun
None (1832–1833)
Martin Van Buren (1833–1837)
Preceded byJohn Quincy Adams
Succeeded byMartin Van Buren
United States Senator
from Tennessee
In office
March 4, 1823 – October 14, 1825
Preceded byJohn Williams
Succeeded byHugh Lawson White
In office
September 26, 1797 – April 1, 1798
Preceded byWilliam Cocke
Succeeded byDaniel Smith
1st Territorial Governor of Florida
In office
March 10, 1821 – December 31, 1821
Appointed byJames Monroe
Preceded byJosé María Coppinger
(Spanish East Florida)
José María Callava
(Spanish West Florida)
Succeeded byWilliam Pope Duval
Member of the U.S. House of Representatives
from Tennessee‘s at-large district
In office
December 4, 1796 – September 26, 1797
Preceded byConstituency established
Succeeded byWilliam C. C. Claiborne
Personal details
BornMarch 15, 1767
Waxhaw Settlement between North Carolina and South Carolina, British America
DiedJune 8, 1845 (aged 78)
Nashville, Tennessee, U.S.
Resting placeThe Hermitage
Political partyDemocratic-Republican
(before 1825)
Jacksonian (1825–1828)
Democratic (1828–1845)
Rachel Donelson
(m. 1794; died 1828)
Children3 adopted sons
AwardsCongressional Gold Medal
Thanks of Congress
SignatureCursive signature in ink
Military service
Allegiance United States
Branch/service United States Army
RankArmy-USA-OF-07.svg Major General (United States Army)
Army-USA-OF-07.svg Major General (United States Volunteers)
US-O8 insignia.svg Major General (Tennessee Militia)
Battles/warsAmerican Revolutionary War
 • Battle of Hanging Rock
Creek War
 • Battle of Talladega
 • Battles of Emuckfaw and Enotachopo Creek
 • Battle of Horseshoe Bend
War of 1812
 • Battle of Pensacola
 • Battle of New Orleans
First Seminole War
Conquest of Florida
 • Battle of Negro Fort
 • Siege of Fort Barrancas
Close Menu