Andrew Johnson

17th President of the United States
In office
April 15, 1865 – March 4, 1869
Vice PresidentNone[a]
Preceded byAbraham Lincoln
Succeeded byUlysses S. Grant
16th Vice President of the United States
In office
March 4, 1865 – April 15, 1865
PresidentAbraham Lincoln
Preceded byHannibal Hamlin
Succeeded bySchuyler Colfax
United States Senator
from Tennessee
In office
March 4, 1875 – July 31, 1875
Preceded byWilliam Gannaway Brownlow
Succeeded byDavid M. Key
In office
October 8, 1857 – March 4, 1862
Preceded byJames C. Jones
Succeeded byDavid T. Patterson
Military Governor of Tennessee
In office
March 12, 1862 – March 4, 1865
Appointed byAbraham Lincoln
Preceded byIsham G. Harris
(Governor of Tennessee)
Succeeded byWilliam Gannaway Brownlow
(Governor of Tennessee)
15th Governor of Tennessee
In office
October 17, 1853 – November 3, 1857
Preceded byWilliam B. Campbell
Succeeded byIsham G. Harris
Member of the U.S. House of Representatives
from Tennessee’s 1st district
In office
March 4, 1843 – March 3, 1853
Preceded byThomas Dickens Arnold
Succeeded byBrookins Campbell
Mayor of Greeneville, Tennessee
In office
Personal details
BornDecember 29, 1808
Raleigh, North Carolina
DiedJuly 31, 1875 (aged 66)
Elizabethton, Tennessee
Resting placeAndrew Johnson National Cemetery
Greeneville, Tennessee
Political partyDemocratic
Other political
National Union (1864–1868)
Eliza McCardle (m. 1827)
SignatureCursive signature in ink
Military service
Allegiance United States[1]
Branch/serviceSeal of the United States Board of War and Ordnance.svg United States Army
Years of service1862–1865
RankUnion Army brigadier general rank insignia.svg Brigadier General
Battles/warsAmerican Civil War
Close Menu