James Madison

4th President of the United States
In office
March 4, 1809 – March 4, 1817
Vice PresidentGeorge Clinton (1809–12)[a]
None (1812–13)
Elbridge Gerry (1813–14)[a]
None (1814–17)
Preceded byThomas Jefferson
Succeeded byJames Monroe
5th United States Secretary of State
In office
May 2, 1801 – March 3, 1809
PresidentThomas Jefferson
Preceded byJohn Marshall
Succeeded byRobert Smith
Member of the U.S. House of Representatives
from Virginia‘s 15th district
In office
March 4, 1793 – March 4, 1797
Preceded byConstituency established
Succeeded byJohn Dawson
Member of the U.S. House of Representatives
from Virginia‘s 5th district
In office
March 4, 1789 – March 4, 1793
Preceded byConstituency established
Succeeded byGeorge Hancock
Delegate to the
Congress of the Confederation
In office
November 6, 1786 – October 30, 1787
In office
March 1, 1781 – November 1, 1783
Personal details
BornMarch 16, 1751
Port Conway, Colony of Virginia, British America
DiedJune 28, 1836 (aged 85)
Orange, Virginia, U.S.
Resting placeMontpelier
Political partyDemocratic-Republican
ChildrenJohn (stepson)
ParentsJames Madison Sr.
Nelly Conway
EducationPrinceton University (BA)
SignatureCursive signature in ink
Military service
AllegianceColony of Virginia
Branch/serviceRed Ensign of Great Britain (1707-1800).svg Virginia militia
Years of service1775
RankUS-O6 insignia.svg Colonel
Close Menu