Rutherford B. Hayes

19th President of the United States
In office
March 4, 1877 – March 4, 1881
Vice PresidentWilliam A. Wheeler
Preceded byUlysses S. Grant
Succeeded byJames A. Garfield
29th and 32nd Governor of Ohio
In office
January 10, 1876 – March 2, 1877
LieutenantThomas L. Young
Preceded byWilliam Allen
Succeeded byThomas L. Young
In office
January 13, 1868 – January 8, 1872
LieutenantJohn C. Lee
Preceded byJacob Dolson Cox
Succeeded byEdward Follansbee Noyes
Member of the U.S. House of Representatives
from Ohio‘s 2nd district
In office
March 4, 1865 – July 20, 1867
Preceded byAlexander Long
Succeeded bySamuel Fenton Cary
Personal details
Rutherford Birchard Hayes

October 4, 1822
Delaware, Ohio, U.S.
DiedJanuary 17, 1893 (aged 70)
Fremont, Ohio, U.S.
Resting placeSpiegel Grove State Park
Political partyWhig (before 1854)
Republican (1854–1893)
Lucy Webb
(m. 1852; died 1889)
Children8, Webb Hayes, Rutherford P. Hayes, Scott Russell Hayes, Manning Force Hayes, George Crook Hayes, Joseph Thompson Hayes, Birchard Austin Hayes, Fanny Hayes
EducationKenyon College (BA)
Harvard University (LLB)
SignatureCursive signature in ink
Military service
Allegiance United States
Branch/service United States Army
 • Union Army
Years of service1861–1865
RankUnion Army brigadier general rank insignia.svg Brigadier General (USV)
Union Army major general rank insignia.svg Brevet Major General (USV)
Unit23rd Ohio Infantry
Kanawha Division
Battles/warsAmerican Civil War
 • Battle of South Mountain (WIA)
 • Valley Campaigns of 1864
Close Menu