William Henry Harrison

9th President of the United States
In office
March 4, 1841 – April 4, 1841
Vice PresidentJohn Tyler
Preceded byMartin Van Buren
Succeeded byJohn Tyler
3rd United States Minister
to Gran Colombia
In office
May 24, 1828 – September 26, 1829
PresidentJohn Quincy Adams
Andrew Jackson
Preceded byBeaufort Taylor Watts
Succeeded byThomas Patrick Moore
United States Senator
from Ohio
In office
March 4, 1825 – May 20, 1828
Preceded byEthan Allen Brown
Succeeded byJacob Burnet
Member of the U.S. House of Representatives
from Ohio‘s 1st district
In office
October 8, 1816 – March 3, 1819
Preceded byJohn McLean
Succeeded byThomas R. Ross
1st Governor of the Indiana Territory
In office
January 10, 1801 – December 28, 1812
Appointed byJohn Adams
Preceded byPosition established
Succeeded byThomas Posey
Delegate to the
U.S. House of Representatives
from the Northwest Territory
In office
March 4, 1799 – May 14, 1800
Preceded byConstituency established
Succeeded byWilliam McMillan
2nd Secretary of the Northwest Territory
In office
June 28, 1798 – October 1, 1799
GovernorArthur St. Clair
Preceded byWinthrop Sargent
Succeeded byCharles Willing Byrd
Personal details
BornFebruary 9, 1773
Charles City County, Colony of Virginia
DiedApril 4, 1841 (aged 68)
Washington, D.C.
Cause of deathPneumonia
Resting placeHarrison Tomb State Memorial
Political partyDemocratic-Republican (before 1828)
Whig (1836–1841)
Anna Symmes (m. 1795)
Children10, including John and Carter
RelativesBenjamin Harrison V (father)
Benjamin Harrison (grandson)
Carter Bassett Harrison (brother)
See Harrison family
EducationHampden–Sydney College
University of Pennsylvania
SignatureCursive signature in ink
Military service
Allegiance United States
Branch/service United States Army
 • Indiana Territory militia
Years of service1791–1798, 1811, 1812–1814
RankArmy-USA-OF-07.svg Major General (U.S. Army)
UnitLegion of the United States
CommandsArmy of the Northwest
Close Menu